The purposeful structuring of ACHI as an independent entity with separate administrative and policy-decision bodies uniquely positions ACHI to serve as an unbiased convener. ACHI brings together diverse groups of stakeholders to accomplish a common goal in an evidence-based manner while providing for the transparent consideration of varied interests and positions.

Hands on a table


In addition to grants and contracts awarded to ACHI for specific projects, annual support for ACHI’s core areas of work is provided by four corporate sponsors:

  • Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield
  • Arkansas Children’s Hospital
  • Arkansas Department of Health
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

An Administrative Committee, composed of the chief administrators from each sponsoring organization, serves as a governing body distinct from ACHI’s Health Policy Board, which provides strategic direction and policy guidance.

Health Policy Board

ACHI’s Health Policy Board consists of 21 voting members (and two ex-officio members) from across the state who bring diverse perspectives and interests on health. This independent, self-perpetuating board identifies and establishes strategic priorities, provides direction and guidance, and serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas. The Health Policy Board guides ACHI’s involvement in and positions on specific policy matters, and it issues position statements that articulate the health needs of Arkansans.

2024 Health Policy Board

  • Jerry Adams, Retired President & CEO, Arkansas Research Alliance
  • Chris B. Barber, FACHE (Vice Chair), President & CEO, St. Bernards Healthcare
  • Lawrence “Larry” Braden, MD, Hospice & Palliative Care, Ouachita County Medical Center
  • Sandra J. Brown, MPH, MSN, RN, CEO, Jefferson Comprehensive Care System, Inc.
  • Rick Elumbaugh, Mayor, City of Batesville
  • Joe Fox, MBA, President, CBI Investments
  • Phillip Gilmore, Ph.D, FACHE,  Chief Executive Officer, Ashley County Medical Center
  • Cal Kellogg, PhD, Executive Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer, Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield
  • Andrew Kumpuris, MD (Chair), Retired Cardiologist, CHI St. Vincent Heart Clinic Arkansas
  • Eddie Ochoa, MD, Associate Professor, Arkansas Children’s Hospital
  • James “Skip” Rutherford III, Dean Emeritus, University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service
  • Herb Sanderson, Retired State Director, AARP Arkansas
  • Judd Semingson, Chief Executive Officer, Community Clinic
  • G. Richard Smith, MD, Interim Dean, UAMS College of Medicine
  • F.S. “Sandy” Stroope, Retired business owner
  • Brent Thompson, JD, Executive Vice President/Chief Legal Officer, Arkansas Children’s Hospital
  • Joe Thompson, MD, MPH (Ex-Officio), President & CEO, Arkansas Center for Health Improvement
  • Annabelle Imber Tuck, JD, Public Service Fellow & Jurist-in-Residence, UALR William H. Bowen School of Law, Retired Justice, Arkansas Supreme Court
  • Laura H. Tyler, LPC, PhD, Chief Executive Officer, Arisa Health
  • Susan Ward-Jones, MD, CEO, East Arkansas Family Health Center, Inc.
  • Mark Williams, PhD (Ex-Officio), Dean, UAMS, College of Public Health, Department Chair of Environmental & Occupational Health
  • Namvar Zohoori, MD, MPH, PhD, Chief Science Officer, Arkansas Department of Health

Administrative Committee

An Administrative Committee, composed of the chief administrators from each sponsor
organization, serves as an oversight body. With input from the Health Policy Board,
they conduct performance review for ACHI’s President and CEO, provide oversight of
ACHI’s financial performance, and approve ACHI’s annual budget.

Renee Mallory, RN

Secretary of Health
Arkansas Department of Health

Barnett, Curtis - BCBS

Curtis Barnett, MPA

President and Chief Executive Officer
Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield

Doderer, Marcy - ACH

Marcella “Marcy” L. Doderer, FACHE

President and Chief Executive Officer
Arkansas Children’s Hospital

Patterson,Cam - UAMS

Cam Patterson, MD, MBA

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences